Game: SCP Containment Breach
Developer: Joonas Rikkonen

Seriously, this is the image that kept me scared for days on end. Tell me that isn’t mortifying and I will call you a liar, or once again congratulate you Arnold on stumbling across our website! Big Fan!
Seriously, this is the image that kept me scared for days on end. Tell me that isn’t mortifying and I will call you a liar, or once again congratulate you Arnold on stumbling across our website! Big Fan!

SCP in this instance stands for Secure Containment Protocol, and is an online project that can be found at http://www.scp-wiki.net/. The “company” is devoted to the collection and containment of any paranormal entities in our world that could pose a threat to the lives of humanity. Any user of the website can create a SCP candidate and send it in to the website to be “contained”. Some users choose to take this opportunity to make humorous SCP candidates such as a deadly jar of toenails, or a car that teaches people how to drive (or knocks them unconscious and turns them into mindless chauffers upon awakening).

However, where the foolish roam, the great stand out as giants (LOOK AT ME MOM I’M DOING PHILOSOPHY I THINK!). Some of the SCP candidates were so outstandingly scary that people within the community decided that there should actually be a game created around them. A game that is constantly being updated with more SCP’s and better graphics. A game that should definitely be played if you are into your spooks.

Whilst being a free to play game, it doesn’t let the player down on the frights. Our antagonist will tackle many an SCP candidate as he attempts to traverse a ……breakout……at the Secure Containment Facility………THEY HAD ONE JOB!

Those prisoners also had one job…..and they messed that up too. Can’t anybody do anything right around here???
Those prisoners also had one job…..and they messed that up too. Can’t anybody do anything right around here???

So for instance, the main antagonist of this game (and the main antagonist of MANY A RESTLESS NIGHT FOR ME), SCP-173, comes in the form of a concrete statue that will snap your neck if you break eye contact with it, kinda like those things from Dr. Who that everyone always talks about, the angels or something, I don’t know I don’t watch Dr. Who (and with that phrase, the reviewer single handily ensured the end of Indiestry and all of its future endeavours). This includes even blinking, and here we have the games blinking mechanic.

So not only do you have all of the darkened corridors to contend with, the other dangerous SCP’s,the card keys that need to be found, but the constant blinking mechanic is actually an incredible way to show that in this game, you have to constantly be on edge. I have never felt so tense just walking along a corridor, praying that SCP-173 does not cross paths with me again, the last time I felt tension like that it was starting this joke and realising I had nowhere to go with it but still needed to make a punchline to try and look as professional as possible.

If you had to choose one game from this creepy gaming special to play, I would recommend that it be this one, because let’s face it you can pound your poor little brain with all of these games in one go, but I wouldn’t even wish that upon my worst enemy. Then again, maybe I’m just a bit weak when it comes to horror games?

Scare Rating: IT RUBS THE LOTION ON THE SKIN

EDITORS NOTE: I will openly admit to not being the bravest person alive, I can do Resi, I can do mostly anything with Zombies but some of the entries here make me feel Aaron deserves an OBE in Scare Resistance (Think Monsters University)but if you’ve got anything you think is scarier or a creepy weirdo spine stingingly chilling game Aaron might’ve missed get in touch 🙂

AARONS NOTE: (Because It’s not fair that just Glen gets Notes) Give a couple of these games a try and contact us, let us know what you think! I promise I won’t delete all of the messages where I get called a wimp, pinky promise.: Indiestrygaming@live.co.uk

